in ,

Lionel Messi won the best forward award in the Champions League

Lionel Messi won the best forward award in the Champions League

By defeating Cristiano Ronaldo and Sadio Mane, Lionel Messi won the best forward award in the Champions League for the last season’s performance. earlier today, the function of the UEFA Champions League draw took place at Monaco, France. In the occasion, as the best forward, the name of the Argentine left foot magician Messi’s name has been revealed. And also, his Barcelona teammate, De Jong has been awarded as the best midfielder who has joined at the Camp Nou this summer transfer window from Ajax. He has left behind the Tottenham midfielder Christian Eriksen and Liverpool’s Jordan Henderson.

The key defender of the Reds Van Dijk has been given as the best defender award who played the vital role of leading Liverpool to the Champions League title. The Dutch full-back has left behind his club mate Trent Alexander-Arnold and the Juventus new signing De Ligt who moved to the Italian side from Ajax in the summer transfer.

And the best goalkeeper award has been given to the Reds Brazilian stopper Alisson. The Brazilian main goalkeeper has defeated the Spurs goalkeeper Hugo Lloris and Barca’s goalkeeper Ter-Stegen.

At the venue of Atletico Madrid, in the last 1st June 2019 the final of the UEFA Champions League took place between Tottenham Hotspur and Liverpool. The Reds won the match by a 2 – 0 goal. To select the best player from the positions, three players have been selected for each position. At the beginning of the current month, the list has been revealed where the Reds players dominated.

Finally, the UEFA Men’s Player of the Year has been revealed and the Dutch star Van Dijk has won the trophy for the first time. Now, it seems that LM10 and Cristiano are going to miss the Ballon d’Or as well. Though Lionel Messi played well in the last season, he scored more than 50 goals in the last season considering all the competition and the award UEFA Men’s Player of the Year or Ballon d’Or used to give to the player for his individual performance.

If we consider the last season’s individual performance, LM10 is the best. He led Barcelona to the La Liga title and Copa del Rey final. Besides, his team played the semi-final of the UEFA Champions League in the last season but against the Reds, they were defeated in the 2nd leg and ruled out. Messi’s Argentina also failed to play the Copa America final in the recently finished episode but ruled out from the semi-final as well.

What do you think?

122 points
Upvote Downvote
Virgil van Dijk won the UEFA Men's Player award

Virgil van Dijk won the UEFA Men’s Player award

Barcelona is in the 'Death Group' of Champions League

Barcelona is in the ‘Death Group’ of Champions League