There is a doubt still and after the statement of the referee of the final Mark Clattenburg, the thing has to the front page again. Was the first goal was legal? The goal of Sergio Ramos was in the off-side or not? So, Real won the Champions League by the mistake of the referee? Let’s find out. In the year 2016, the team of Ramos won the Champions League trophy. It was their 11th UCL title. After a long time, the news has come once again.
If we consider the watch, after the final of the 2016 Champions League, four years have passed. After a long time, the old news has come just because of the referee Mark Clattenburg. The Englishman was the referee of the Champions League final 2016. To the British news portal, the 45 years old top-rated referee has accepted his fault which he made on that day in the very crucial moment of the game. The goal of Ramos was in the off-side.
Mark Clattenburg 💬
"In [the 2016 CL] final Real Madrid's first goal was just offside and realised at half-time. I gave Atléti a penalty early in the 2nd half. Pepe was furious and said in perfect English: 'Never a penalty, Mark.' I replied 'Your 1st goal shouldn't have stood." pic.twitter.com/DjSzIk2szu
— MansionBet (@MansionBet) May 14, 2020
In that case, if the score of Sergio Ramos was canceled because of the off-side, the result of the game could be changed. In the 15th minute of the game, Real Madrid went ahead through the goal of Sergio Ramos. In the 79th minute, Atletico Madrid returned to the game. Later, through the tie-breaker, Real Madrid managed their 11th Champions League title. If the goal of Ramos would vanish from the scoresheet, who knows Atletico Madrid could taste their first Champions League title.
UEFA let Mark Clattenburg, a lifelong Real Madrid fan, referee the 2016 CL final has never been talked enough
If there was any other club who lost a CL final to an offside goal, the media pressure would’ve been unprecedented but since it’s Atléti, we have to stand for ourselves. pic.twitter.com/sC4cFgdYrZ
— AU 🔱 (@parteyismo) May 14, 2020
To the news portal, the English referee told that Real Madrid was 1 -0 goal ahead in the first half of the final. But the goal was in the off-side only for a little difference. At the break, the caught the matter first. It was a tough decision to make and his assistant failed to take it. But Mark Clattenburg tried to give Atletico Madrid a chance.
In the 46th minute, Real defender Pepe fouled the Atletico striker Fernando Torres. The Portuguese defender wanted to force the referee not to give any penalty. In that case, their first goal was not perfect, Mark answered him clearly. Pepe did not talk later, the referee stated. However, Atletico Madrid could not use the penalty properly. The number #7 of the Atletico Antoine Griezmann missed the shot.